Bird Wars

Ok Ron raised me from my Eagle to his Loorikeets….I’ll go a step further….another feathered friend (although I have no idea what kind of bird this is).   Yesterday I took my nephew Tanner to the zoo.  I have not been able to go there as usual w/ everything going on.  Can you believe it was December 29th and 59 degrees…a heat wave for here in Nebraska at this time of year.  As Tanner and I walked through the jungle, this beauty landed not far from where we were walking…loved his details and his eyes!

~ by Tammy on December 30, 2011.

12 Responses to “Bird Wars”

  1. Wonderful details . . . can’t wait to see what Ron comes up with.

  2. Another great and beautiful capture!

  3. We have a bird in Australia that looks a bit like that called a Buff Banded Rail but it is a coastal bird, so what would it be doing in Nebraska in winter, I’ll bet it stopped to ask “How do I get outta HERE?” Love the eyes too.

    • When I get the chance I will goggle that bird…it very well could be an Aussie….tons of different variety of birds from all over in our jungle dome. Wish they would have signs up to identify the ones that are flying free within the dome!

  4. Gorgeous, mysterious bird. I’ll ask Jon if he knows what it is.

  5. Gorgeous bird portrait…I love how he is so highlighted by the gradations in your solid backdrop and we are not distracted by a cluttered background.

  6. Really nice bird shot. Love the simple, dark background.

  7. Love this capture, how did you get the black background? Elements?

  8. Fantastic bird portrait!
    So nice with the dark background.
    Happy New Year Chesney!

  9. Hi Tammy,
    He’s a very handsome fellow. I’d say you and Ron are at a tie with the birds. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  10. This beats storage wars by a billion!
    Best for the New Year, good to see you posting!

  11. What a beautiful photograph this is!

Leave a comment