Weekly Challenges

233. MacroMonday:  Fast

Today while out pulling weeds I noticed what I thought at first was a hummingbird.  I ran in the house to grab my camera and luckily he was still there so I started shooting.  After looking at him for a while I thought this can’t be a humming bird, it looks like a bug…hmmmmm….hummingbird or insect??  Well I came in and googled it and found out it was a Hummingbird Clearwing Moth.  I had never seen one of those so I was thrilled to death!  His wings moved really fast like a hummingbirds and it fluttered from bloom to bloom very quickly.  I was even more thrilled when I downloaded the pics and saw that I got some decent ones!

When googling it I found this video and thought you all might enjoy it.

Today’s Flower

234.  The Creative Exchange:  Ornamental

We ate at the cafeteria in the Timberline Lodge up on Mt Hood.  In that cafeteria there was a glass block window unlike any I had ever seen before…it was just so unique that I had to snap a picture.  Although, I have to admit, it was kinda creepy eating there with all these faces staring at me!  I did feel like it should have been included in filming of the movie “The Shining”!

~ by Tammy on August 22, 2011.

24 Responses to “Weekly Challenges”

  1. a nearly overwhelming abundance of beautiful pictures! They all are so well done!

  2. very cool – especially the second shot. I never heard of/saw this either

  3. Hi Tammy,
    What a find! I’ve never seen a bug like that. I agree, I would have a hard time eating with all those faces staring at me. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  4. Cool! What bug. Great shot on it. I never seen a bug like that either.

  5. Beautiful and so creative!!

  6. I have never seen a bug like that. Great shot!!

  7. Your photos are very special. The first time I ever saw a hummingbird moth I was amazed. That was a few years ago. I saw them once and have never seen them again. Thank you for sharing the video too. Great post!

  8. I have seen that little hummingbird/moth in my garden this summer too…love watching them. Great capture!

  9. I had never seen or heard of a hummingbird moth until earlier this year when I saw it on someone’s Flickr page. It is amazing just how much it resembles a hummingbird. These are really beautiful photographs Tammy. I love “Ornamental.” Such wonderful light and lines. Beautifully seen and captured.

    Thank you so much for sharing this today at The Creative Exchange.

    Sending you wishes for a wonderful day!

    lisa.

  10. What a lovely if slightly creepy piece of art! The hummingbirds are gorgeous!

  11. THese bugs don’t live down under, so thanks for sharing Nature’s latest visitor to Chesney Manor!

  12. Great shots Tammy!
    I love hummingbirds and we have lots around here.
    I guess I should take some snaps.

  13. Incredible photos of this odd but fascinating little creature.

    Your Today’s Flower brings to mind the Munchkins!

  14. Lovely images. I saw one of these moths in my garden last year… Like you, I dashed inside for my camera! I did know what he was before but didn’t get any images quite as nice as yours! The other images are nice too. I’ve saved the link for the video and will watch it later. Hard to viewmit on my iPad. 🙂

  15. Also hard to type on my iPad… “viewmit” is supposed to read “view it” … Sigh.

  16. That is one very funky moth…and I agree with you about the window. someone was having troubling dreams when he/she designed it I think! but it makes for a fascinating photo.

  17. He may be fast but you are faster! :0) Love him!

  18. Lovely colors and details in these macros!

  19. Love the hummingbird moth pics, who would win between a real hummingbird and one of these if push came to shove?

  20. Wonderful capture Tammy, I love the color!!

  21. Fabulous! Beautiful images and the video was a treat. The faces in the window are neat.

  22. Great capture! I´ve never seen anything lika this.

  23. I’ve never seen a Hummingbird Moth. Great captures! Re: the window – it’s rather beautiful. I wonder what the faces represent?

  24. We’ve had the hummingbird moths on a yearly basis but they are as quick as the hummingbirds and soooo hard to capture. You did a fantastic job with yours.

Leave a Reply

 
