Weekly Challenges

MACRO MONDAY:  PAWS

 

TODAY’S FLOWER

 

 

CREATIVE EXCHANGE:  FLOODED

Around our area there has been massive flooding going on…both Eastern Nebraska and Western Iowa has been dealing with the Missouri River’s waters rising 7 ft above flood levels.  Farm land, many homes and businesses are currently under water.  Popular downtown destinations are closed and both of our nuclear power plants are surrounded by water.  It always amazes me how people pull together in these times and creatively solve mutual problems.  Storage units are rare and hard to find and I know several families which have opened their homes to  complete strangers and their belongings.  People are also preparing for more flooding and are organizing “sand bag” parties to fill sand bags so that people can put them around their homes and businesses to try to salvage as much as they can.  It makes me proud to be from this area where people still care about their neighbors.

This image was taken on the Iowa side of the Missouri River…I was in a moving car shooting directly into the sun and blew out most of the water.  I used some topaz filters and textures (from ShadowHouse Creations) to try to salvage the image and I liked the results.

To see more images from the Creative Exchange go to Lisa Gordon’s Photography

~ by Tammy on July 11, 2011.

24 Responses to “Weekly Challenges”

  1. What’s Macro about those Giany Plates of Meat? (Rhymning Slang for Feet)

  2. People truly can be amazing in situations such as this. I love your photograph Tammy, and at the same time, I find it very scary. That is SO much water! I am glad you are okay, and I hope that the flood waters recede soon.

    Thank you so much for sharing this at The Creative Exchange this week.

    Have a good evening.

    lisa.

    P.S. Lovin’ those adorable little paws too!! xo

  3. Love those paws! Happy Macro Monday

  4. It is inspiring that people rally together to help one another in a crisis such as this. I really like your edit on the shot of the flooding.

  5. That flooding image is so sad….I really hate water….

  6. It really is amazing how people pull together when needed. Great macro of the puppy paw!!

  7. What a mix of images! I love those paws with no claws.
    I’m glad to know that people are taking care of each other; that’s a good poignant shot of the flood.

    • They have claws Ellen…this is one of the siberian tigers at the zoo…I just captured his paws “sleeping” along with the rest of him lol

  8. Stunning and creative photos–excellent work. Mickie 🙂

  9. hope they will safe as much as possible, water can be a friendly natural force, but can also be very, very dangerous.

  10. Beautiful flower! Great shot.

  11. I love those paws! such great shots.

  12. a powerful image of the flooded area – seeing it through your eyes somehow makes this more real for me than looking at media reports.

  13. Your image of the flooded area is beautiful, we have had too litle rain here.

  14. Thanks for sharing your exchange images. They are all wonderful.

  15. Blown out sky or not this is beautiful! Great capture and textures!

  16. Sorry to hear about the flooding, I hope you and your family and friends are on high enough ground to stay safe and dry.
    Your flower shot is stunning!

  17. Those paws look like they’ve seen a few miles. 🙂 Love the color of the flower, so bright! I hope you are safe from flooding.

  18. The puppy paws are adorable, the flower & the color is beautiful, but the barn is awesome – I’m sooo sorry about all the flooding… I’ve been seeing it on tv, but I’m a barn hunter, so that shot really caught my eye! =)

  19. The flooding is terrible, but your image is wonderfully processed! I love the paws and flower shots too!

  20. hope you are safe – but that is an amazing photo!!! I can’t imagine having water that high!

  21. I wonder if those paws smell like Fritos (my cats toes smell like Fritos – don’t ask me how I know).

    I hope you and your house do okay with the floods. Amazing how people come together – same thing happens in NYC.

  22. I just want to reach out and touch them!

  23. I really like your barn image with the flood of both water and light…it seems to suit the subject and enhances the bleak feeling one gets with flooded areas.

Leave a Reply

 
