171. Elegant

There were tons and tons of deer around our cabin.  I always think deer are so elegant, they are just so graceful and peaceful.  Still don’t know how anyone could hunt Bambi!  🙂

~ by Tammy on June 22, 2011.

15 Responses to “171. Elegant”

  1. Aww…she’s a beauty! Love how fuzzy she is! 🙂

  2. I love deer too, even though they can be a real nuisance when there are too many of them. I couldn’t shoot one either.

  3. Hi Tammy,
    They look so dainty. I’m with you on this one. How could anyone hurt a deer. They look so innocent. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  4. It always amazes me how a deer can blend into its habitat. Great capture of a skittish animal.

  5. They are my favorite animals, and I agree with you on the hunting. Not sure how anyone can do it, although I also know that many would give valid arguments for doing so. 😦

    This is a beautiful photograph Tammy!

  6. That does look like Bambi’s Mother (Poor Dear Deer) Check the face and compare it to a Kangaroo next time you are at the zoo.

  7. They are one of the most gentle looking creatures, though I imagine they can do a lot of damage in large numbers.

  8. They are cute but I have a feeling Steven wouldn’t share your same “awwww… so peaceful and elegant” comment! 😉

  9. Very nicely composed. It’s tricky, given the deer’s natural camouflage, to allow it to stand out; but you’ve managed to get the lighting just right.

  10. yes, very elegant, how most of the wild deer!

  11. It is always such a nice thing to see deer in the wild. But less so in urban/suburban areas where they don’t mesh too well with the things humans are attached to, like automobiles.

    Your photo is really lovely……and you sure were being watched!

  12. Glad you like them, Tammy! I couldn’t hunt them, but I bought them all train tickets to Omaha. One way, of course.

  13. I can’t even like this sweet shot. I think of them as pests, like cockroaches they thrive on human activity. I eat meat and have eaten venison but I’ve only hunted/killed fish.

  14. I am amazed just how easy it is for them to “fade” into the background. Great shot.

  15. Looks like this deer hasn’t had the chance to put on it’s spring/summer hair yet…spose it’s a case of the prolonged winter. I’m not a hunter myself but there is a fate worse than a hunter’s bullet and that’s starvation due to overpoplulation. May as well provide someone with a meal rather than to go to waste.

Leave a Reply

 
