170. Purple

Loved the single purple feather on this mallard…and such a beautiful shade of purple too!

~ by Tammy on June 21, 2011.

17 Responses to “170. Purple”

  1. It looks like she parted her other feathers just so you could have a peek at it. Nice!

  2. absolutely well done, I do like it! So beautiful a portrait of a she-mallard!

  3. Hi Tammy,
    She’s beautiful with her one purple feather. I’ve never seen one like this. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one like that before – very cool

  5. She is proud of her purple feather . . . wonderful capture!

  6. I didn’t know female mallards had any color other than brown. Nice catch, Tammy! Besides, purple is my favorite color.

  7. Nice portrait of a bird. I can see his feet in the water. Well captured.

  8. Oh my goodness, that is really neat Tammy!
    Beautifully seen and captured!

  9. I think I loved the preened feather in the bill more great close up.

  10. Very cool!

  11. Hi, I’m traveling through on a creative exchange tour and I like your blog and photos very much. you have the eye and it’s great stuff.

  12. Beautiful closeup–and you’ve shown off that striking purple patch quite well.

  13. Wow, that is really interesting and cool. I don’t know if I have seen that before, but then again I don’t study ducks that closely!

  14. Nicely caught, but I’m with Ron in appreciating the feather she has caught in her bill.

  15. Beautiful Tammy!

  16. I’ve once seen a flash of purple on a female , this is wonderful, I love the reflection and the swirls in the water.

  17. I’m with Ellen…the ripples in the water really add a nice dimension to this portrait. Mrs Duck is quite lovely!

Leave a Reply

 
