152. Slick

We are baaaaaack!   Rolled back into Omaha earlier this afternoon and boy does it feel good to be home.  There is something to being said about sleeping in your own bed!  🙂   We had a great get away though.  We always love Rocky Mountain National Park and it was no different this time.  Saw new sights and wildlife we had never seen before.  As we rolled into Estes Park it was sunny and 78 degrees.  And as soon as we drove into the park we headed to one of my favorite destinations, Bear Lake.  I always love the white capped mountains reflecting in the sparkling blue waters.  We were in for a big surprise…at an elevation of 9,450 ft, Bear Lake and it’s trails were still covered in snow (about 2-3 feet to be exact).  This was a scene I have never seen before, or walked on in tennis shoes.  As we headed for the lake we slid down a small hill and POW there I am on my bottom (of course, with tons of people around)….saved the camera but not my pride!  lol    Man, that melting snow was sure slick!!!  I learned the hard way that hiking boots are needed in June in the mountains!  🙂

 

I am so behind with commenting, but I will be visiting and catching up in the next few days!  Looking forward to seeing what has been gong on in the past week!  🙂

~ by Tammy on June 10, 2011.

13 Responses to “152. Slick”

  1. Welcome home! It looks like you found a beautiful spot to vacation! Glad you managed to save your camera… hope your ‘pride’ is feeling better. 😉

  2. So glad you’re back my friend! I missed you. I really like the lake photo…even if it is kinda frozen over. 🙂

  3. Wow….so much for global warming! You may have lost your pride, but not your sense of humor. Can’t wait to see more from this trip

  4. Welcome back stranger, That sure is some fine summer snow you have there, Can’t wait to see the rest of the shots.

  5. welcome back! And have a good time at home!

  6. Nice picture Tammy, you are so true about sleeping in your own bed, we too just got back last week. Home sweet Home means a lot. Take Care

  7. We missed you, Tammy! Man, you no sooner get rid of your snow in Omaha than you travel to Colorado to find more! 😉

  8. Welcome home! What a gorgeous vacation spot. I have also learned never to leave home without my hiking shoes . . . summer or winter . . . only now I also never leave without my walking stick that can double as a monopod!

  9. Better to have pride damaged than the camera, lol. Glad you had a good trip and am anticipating loads more great images.

  10. Snow in June–amazing! I’m glad your camera survived…and who needs pride anyway?

  11. I love the mountains so am really looking forward to your photos! Glad you didn’t lose that new camera in a snowdrift!!

  12. oh my word! snow! And it still looks cold, even though it is June snow 😉

  13. Such a beautiful looking area, even if it is still covered in snow.

Leave a Reply

 
