Creative Exchange: New Beginnings

About a week ago I bought one of those kits where you grow an Amarlylis….it has really grown in a week!   The bud is getting huge!  Today marks new beginnings for this bud and (surprise) a new beginning for me and my new Canon 60D.  Now I get to learn all over again!  I am so excited.  This is the first picture I took, but I blotched it up by not checking the ISO (it was set at 3200)….needlas to say, tons of noise.  I figured a quick save was to rely on my dependable textures (from Shadowhouse Creations, of course).

To see more at the Creative Exchange,  head on over to Lisa Gordon’s Photography!

~ by Tammy on February 24, 2011.

22 Responses to “Creative Exchange: New Beginnings”

  1. Ahhh…and you’re already speaking Greek to me. Noise, ISO…I have sooo much to learn! Oh yeah, and that whole texture thing. LOL

  2. The 3200 ISO is so you Tammy, It is noisy! Say No More! Congrats on the New Toy.
    Paint Ron Green.

  3. A very beautiful “mistake” Congrats on the new toy

  4. A work of art! I expect you and your new camera will make a lot of those together! I love the texture and think your use of the teeny tiny text was quite clever.

    Are you switching from Nikon to Canon? I can’t remember what you used before…

  5. Tammy –
    This looks like a beautiful painting! I love how you processed it!
    Amaryllis are such beautiful flowers, and so HUGE. Cannot wait to see photographs when it opens.

    Thank you so much for sharing this today at The Creative Exchange.

    Have a great evening, and CONGRATULATIONS on the new camera!!

    lisa.

  6. I love what you did with this and the background! Very creative!

  7. Beautiful image Tammy. What a loving gesture to give your old camera to you son to further his education … and pave the way for the 60D! 😉 I’ve heard nothing but good about that camera … I hope you enjoy it and am looking forward to seeing the great images you coax from it!

  8. have fun with your new toy. I always add textures to noised out shots. great way to cheat and make them into pretty. My camera only goes to 1600 ISO. But I try to keep it at 100.

  9. Some of my most interesting shots are mistakes! And thank goodness for textures. They can salvage almost anything. Hope you have fun with your new toy! I like the way this shot turned out.

  10. Great save!

  11. The textures are wonderful and the subtle colors blend beautifully.
    Happy new camera! Looking forward to more amarlylis shots.

  12. Congrats on the new toy. I’m sure you’ll LOVE it! Very ingenious thinking with the texture. Before I read I actually thought it was a picture of decorative cloth.

  13. Nothing like turning a mistake into an advantage–and art! This looks like a botanical drawing.

  14. Great job, reminds me of harvesting the corn. Love those amaryllis.

  15. It looks nice! My second bulb is almost blooming. 🙂 Congrats on the new camera! 🙂

  16. Congratulations on the new camera! I have the 50D like it so I’m sure you’ll enjoy the new model. Exciting… shoot lots!

    I wish Canon would improve the noise levels on their cameras, that’s where I think Nikon outdoes them. Every canon I’ve owned has been a disappointment to me in that regard.

  17. Awesome new toy!

  18. Congratulations to your new equipment, I think, it’s great, and I am sure, there is nothing you’ll have to learn.

  19. Wow, looks like an illustration from a botany book! Very cool. Congratulations on the new camera. What fun!!

  20. Great save! So now I know what your new toy is…I’ve had a 50D for a year now and love it but am thinking I’d love the 7D for its increased autofocus capabilities among other things…maybe I’ll treat myself for my 60th in a year…not getting any younger, so why not? Have fun with your new best friend!

Leave a Reply

 
