50. Slow

With temps in the 60’s I had some beautiful mornings to walk the zoo.  This sloth is always sleeping, I rarely catch him awake.  Well, yesterday I was lucky, he slowly opened his eyes and then very slowly maneuvered himself to an upright position (he usually hangs upside down in a tree).   Then, to my delight, he slowly looked at me and gave me a huge smile, I think he likes his picture taken!  Sloths move only when necessary and even then very slowly: they have about a quarter as much muscle tissue as other animals of similar weight, it takes too much energy for this guy to move very fast, if in danger he is capable of moving a little faster, but not much.

~ by Tammy on February 20, 2011.

26 Responses to “50. Slow”

  1. Great capture Tammy! Maybe he is taking longer to thaw out. lol

  2. Awesome Tammy, his expression is priceless. “Should I go back to bed or stay up?” Great job

  3. I never thought I’d say a sloth was cute, but he is! I love that you finally caught his face

  4. I never knew that sloths were actually umm……..slothful. But, what a super idea to post for this theme. You must be so glad to have the nicer weather for your zoo visits…

  5. A perfect photo for this theme. Befitting of his character, he does look a little sleepy. I guess being a ‘model’ is really exhausting.

  6. You have made this critter look so cute . . . love the innocent look and the “smile”.

  7. Wow – fabulous catch!

  8. What a handsome creature, and another great shot!

  9. And just how did you get a hold of my driver’s license photo, Tammy??????? 😉

  10. wow never have I seen a sloth in real life, just from that kids show. Very cool.

  11. But such a beautiful face, gorgeous!

  12. Haha! I love this face!

  13. Well, it takes a lot of energy to look beautiful/handsome! Nice to finally see a closeup view of a sloth!

  14. He doesn’t even have ‘bed hair’ like most of us do when we wake up! He looks so cute and cuddly.

  15. Patience rewarded! And he does look pleased!

  16. Oh, this is precious Tammy!
    What a sweet, sweet face.
    Beautifully captured!

  17. He is so cute! I’ve never seen a sloth. Thanks for sharing the story of how he smiled. It helps to see his personality more. You must be special to him for him to exert that energy!!

  18. One doesn’t see too many Nebraska sloths, and this one is so handsome!

  19. They are such unusual creatures!

  20. slow it is and a perfect portrait, maybe you should do a copy for him LOL I like the close cropping and he seems straight from the hairdresser… a very nice and peaceful look. Also thanks for the information, not only do we see lots of interesting photos but also a lot of interesting information! Another advantage of the Photowalk!

  21. Wow, such a lovely portrait. Very cute also.

  22. So sweet, so slow! Glad he gave you a smile.

  23. maybe he is rarely awake, but now he opened his eyes especially for you.

  24. How cool is that!

  25. What an utterly remarkable photo! I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it, even in National Geographic.

  26. I sure never expected that a sloth was so cute… simply precious! A great catch and how wonderful he was finally awake.

Leave a Reply

 
