47. Blue

After Julie’s beautiful images of her ice fishing village, I had to show off what they look like around here.  Instead of seeing those cool colorful huts, we usually see pop up tents or little storage units!  lol    With temperatures in the 60’s the ice is melting fast….I’m not so sure I would want to be out there on that melting ice!

~ by Tammy on February 17, 2011.

18 Responses to “47. Blue”

  1. Looks scary! I wouldn’t want to be out there either.

  2. wow. I can’t believe people are out there if the weather got so warm. Maybe you’ll be able to capture the emergency rescue when somebody ends up in the water! Do they have ladders by the side?

  3. I should have taken a shot like this I am right on the lake, but now all the houses are off the lake. Maybe I can still find one.

  4. perhaps might not be advisable going on that ice, but it’s very nice to have a look at.

  5. How cool is that! I don’t think you could pay me to be out on melting ice either.

  6. I guess the advantage to these is you can pick up and move to where the fish are biting better. Or where to where the neighbors are friendlier. Or whatever. Last year the community I photographed had to be taken off the ice a full two weeks before the ministry mandated deadline because of warmer weather. Do they drive onto the ice at this location?

    • We do not drive on our lakes in this area…none of them are really big enough. 🙂 You can get 3 wheelers out on them though

  7. A colorful tent on a slush covered lake would not be my most desired destination…but it does make an interesting photo.

  8. The bottom one looks like it is sinking!

  9. That’s really fishing on the edge! Do I understand right that the tent covers a hole in the ice?

  10. I think I’d wantto lasso my tent to bring it in–I wouldn’t trust putting weight on that thaw-rotten ice!

  11. Yikes! Don’t they know that there are fish markets?

  12. 🙂 Can agree with Ellen, in this cold, why go out and sit on the ice, Brrrr. But a lovely image it made.

  13. So many shades of blue! Seeing the water puddling on top of the ice says to me, RUN!! LOL!

  14. Neat photo. I love seeing all the shatty villages pop up in the winter. 🙂

  15. Nice comparison. I’m not sure I’d want to be out there either.

  16. With the looks of that lake, it seems you should be able to pick up and move your fish house as quickly as possible…scarey!

Leave a Reply

 
