40. Architecture

Last weekend Scott and I went downtown to our pro indoor soccer team’s game.   I brought my camera but only took 1 picture….this scene was taken from the parking garage.  Something about the texture of the top of this church against all of the lines of the buildings caught my attention.  I have to admit, my husband was getting a little impatient w/ me as I went down my list to see if this could fill a theme lol

~ by Tammy on February 10, 2011.

26 Responses to “40. Architecture”

  1. That is a fabulous church! I really like how the whole photo draws you from one point to another. Well done my friend! 🙂

  2. very nice! I love the little crosses on top. Do you carry your list around with you? I have mine on my iPhone, but I generally wait until I see a photo that I like and then try to fit it into a theme.

  3. Nice contrast between the “old” and the modern. Go ahead and take all the pix you want. Then decide later what theme they fit. It’s just pixels.
    Thanks for commenting on my photos, too!

  4. Hi Tammy,
    Great shot. Love all that texture in the bricks of the church. Those arch windows are beautiful. Have a great day@

    Sherrie

  5. Old and irregular in contrast to new and rigorous. I like this!

  6. It does have cool texture. I guess that’s why I didn’t follow a theme list so I have more freedom but kudos to you who do! 🙂

  7. it was a good decision taking this picture, very nice textures all around, I like it.

  8. He should be used to that by now!!

    Beautiful detail and lines captured in this image. The processing brings out the beauty of the church.

  9. Beautiful blend of old and new as well!

  10. The stonework and those arches are so much more interesting to look at than the modern buildings. My husband has inadvertently helped me with a theme this morning – see my ‘hands’ post.

  11. There really is something about the texture!
    Wonderful shot!

  12. The old and new against one another is very intriguing.

  13. Wonderful contrast of the old and new. As usual, you have great instincts. Well done!

  14. A beautiful, grandiose structure! I love the processing you chose for it, too!

  15. I don’t know how you do it? I’m having trouble keeping up and I don’t visit anywhere near the number of sites you do. HDR in this?

  16. Great way to bring the old out against the new. A startling contrast in design and materials.

  17. love the details and the texture. I love the look of old plus new

  18. Great shot. I love the texture of the church and all the other buildings in the background complement the church perfectly.

  19. Love that old church and to think when it was constructed, it was probably one of the taller structures in the city…now surpassed by all the skyscrapers. I usually take the photo now and then worry about tweeking it to fit the list later!

  20. I can see why this caught your eye, the old brick is lovely. As Ron said the old against the new buildings is interesting and I am drawn to the crosses on top of it. Great capture Tammy.

  21. The textures and shapes of the church are really nice. It makes a great contrast against the sterility of the more modern buildings. Yes, hubbies can be very focused on “getting there” and not taking time to see what’s around. Then again, we can get so focused on taking pictures of everything, we can leave them feeling “out in the cold”. Oh well, you win some, you lose some.

  22. One fine picture you took Tammy!!

  23. glad you saw this! what is striking to me is the contrast of old and new architecture styles mingled together.

  24. Love the contrast in old & new. Reminds me of those photos Ron took of the old church near him, surrounded by modern buildings.

  25. Once again a ditto on all of the above!

  26. You’re right–the church seems to have come fron another era, now out of place amid all the burnished steel.

Leave a Reply

 
