Creative Exchange: Silence

This scene was just waiting for me to take it’s picture.  There was a fresh layer of snow on the ground and it was freezing cold….you could not hear a single noise except the wind whipping the limbs around.  It reminded me of a sketched winter scene, so that was kinda the look I was trying to achieve.  Although, once I got to playing it didn’t quite turn out that way.  I played with the topaz adjust in many of the different settings, and then dodged and burned here and there and finally played w/ the levels adjustment to my liking.  I finished it off w/ a frame.

Some people have requested to see the original image so here it is…

To see more creative exchange images or to join in the fun, head on over to Lisa Gordon’s Photography.

~ by Tammy on January 26, 2011.

33 Responses to “Creative Exchange: Silence”

  1. This is beautiful!

  2. a work of art. Would make a gorgeous card. I loved how you described the cold & quiet at the scene. I can imagine it the way you saw it.
    I wonder what this topaz processing of a photo you talk about is.

  3. have only one word: beautiful!

  4. What a beautiful picture. Looks like the cover of a greeting card. Interesting processing. I’ll have to play a bit with the topaz.

  5. Very nice job.I think this would make a great holiday card.

  6. I immediately thought Christmas card when I saw your beautiful image. That green just pops.

  7. Well I really, really love it! I agree it could be a greeting card! And I can only hope that one day I will understand all this Greek (dodging, burning, Topaz) that you speak of. LOL 🙂

  8. This is just a ‘wow’ photo! (I’m not familiar with Topaz, but I’ll bet I can find it!)

  9. Very, very nice. Looks like a Christmas card!

  10. It really does look like a sketch… in color! It’s great! =)

  11. I thought that the Christmas tree shots were over for nearly a year! LOL Very Pretty!

  12. Beautiful capture and processing!!

  13. Hi Tammy,
    I thought this was a postcard. It’s beautiful! Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  14. Tammy –

    This is just beautiful, and the work you did on it is amazing! Lots of heart went into this one. It is perfect!

    Thank you so much for sharing it this week at The Creative Exchange!

    Have a wonderful evening!

    lisa.

  15. Looks like a snow painting! Incredible…

  16. Love your description of the scene that caught not just your eye but your creative spirit………you certainly worked your “magic” on this scene!

  17. Excellent processing. I like it!

  18. I read your commentary before the photo came up, so I was expecting something that was monotoned. It was a pleasant surprise to see that winter green–just as it must ben out there in the cold and snow. The soft subtle processing adds to the wintriness.

  19. I love the “barely there” nature of this image. Just beautiful. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  20. I like the way you’ve edited this back, looks like the snow is whirling around it.

  21. Just beautiful…your processing makes this look like a wonderland.

  22. Gorgeous! I love how you transformed that into a piece of art! (not that it was a bad photo—just beautifully enhanced it)

  23. I really like this photo Tammy. Amazing job!

  24. I expect to see this as part of next year’s Christmas card! What a great job you did in creating this image.

  25. Lovely work!

  26. Great job on this one and the framing suits very well. Looks like a capture of winter over here.

  27. I agree with a few people above – would make a lovely winter card. The texture (?) in the background really works well here

  28. You have made this into a work of art. Beautiful.

  29. Just lovely, Tammy. You made an excellent choice to give it that kinda high-key look. Add a couple red balls and it will make a perfect card for next Christmas!

  30. Looks like a postcard Tammy. I like the processing and the way the evergreen is so prominent in the shot. NIce.

  31. The processing really enhanced this. It really doesn’t look like that same photograph.

  32. Lovely branches this tree, I really like. Nice composition. Greetings.

  33. Stunning! Your processing works really well.

Leave a Reply

 
