Creative Exchange: Rustic Living

Last year someone posted a recommendation to visit  Kim Klassen’s Cafe and it was love at first sight.  Her creativity with textures always astounds me!  Not only does she create some great images with textures, she also creates some very unique textures with different medias.  She has many classes you can join to learn her techniques and also a photo recipe book which she sells.  Last week she posted a sample tutorial from her book and I decided to try it out…I followed it as posted and then when finished I did a levels adjustment then made a frame.  I really liked the results.  If you too liked the results you can find her tutorial HERE and give it a try.

Original

Also, check out Kim’s pet gallery…..there are tons of faces you will fall in love with!

If you would like to see more creative exchange images or to join in on the fun head on over to Lisa Gordon’s Photography.

 

~ by Tammy on January 17, 2011.

38 Responses to “Creative Exchange: Rustic Living”

  1. thank you, Tammy, for sharing this, seems great to me.

  2. Love this Tammy!
    Beautifully done.
    Kim’s site and her work are truly wonderful. I am just finishing one of her classes, and it has been fantastic!
    Thank you so much for sharing this today at The Creative Exchange.

    Have a wonderful rest of the day!

    lisa.

  3. I love trying out new textures and photo treatments. Thanks! I’ll check out the tutorial asap. Your barn turned out wonderfully. The texture gives it so much more personality.

  4. Tammy, that’s beautiful!! I checked out the links and not only will I try this tut but I’m more amazed at all that you get done in a day!!

  5. This is really nice! You made something really special out of an ordinary barn photo. Woo hoo!

  6. That is an amazing creation, Tammy! ‘Course the original image was really, really nice too. I’ll have to go check out the link later…

  7. That is beaitiful Tammy but I still need to learn a little bit about PSE before I take on creative stuff that I am not built to achive!

  8. what a differene it made. I like it very much. Will take a look at the tutorial. 🙂 Thanks!

  9. What a beautiful image! It looks like a postcard.

  10. This is a beautiful work of art. It always amazes me to see how textures can add another dimension to an already lovely image!

  11. Beautiful shot and the texture is fabulous! I love using Kim’s textures.

  12. It looks like a painting! Love it. Okay… stop sending me to sites that want to take my money 🙂

  13. Beautiful framable art. I can’t wait to visit the site and try this tutorial.

  14. Oh Tammy, this is fabulous! The original shot is amazing but the edited version is just awesome. Thanks for the link to the info…going to check it out now…

  15. I love kims class and you did a great job with the texture

  16. What a fun edit! Love what you did to it! :0)

  17. really beautiful processing. I’ll have to check the site out. Thanks for sharing!

  18. Love, love, LOVE the processing–it really looks like a pen and water color painting.

  19. Wow! I’ve got to get up the nerve to try doing something with pictures someday. That looks so cool!

  20. Fantastic Tammy! and thanks for the interesting links. Will jump over there straight away 🙂

  21. what I’d like to attach: you have done a wonderful processing, it’s really great!

  22. Really like the processing on this photo..I’m checking out the link next!

  23. Yes, the processing is fantastic. The only criticism would be the tight crop on the right side…would love to see what’s over there.
    Thanks for the link, I’m headed over there now.
    BTW, this might look pretty good on canvas!

  24. Well done

  25. Beautiful picture. I love the processing. I’ll be sure to check out the link. Thanks for sharing your creations as well as your resources. It’s greatly appreciated.

  26. Thanks for the link, Tammy! I love the effect on that barn – and that looks like a great inspirational site.

  27. Well Tammy, since you’re the one who I can thank for getting me started on textures, I just want to add that I’ll be checking out this link as well. Agree with the poster who commented on how much you are able to get done in a day!!!! Always think it’s amazing that you still find time to post at EV!!!!!! Enjoyed checking out our blog!

  28. Awesome, Tammy! You’re becoming quite the artist! Perhaps a second career is in the making?

  29. It is so amazing. You have turned an ordinary photo into a work of art!

  30. So beautiful! I love the texture!

  31. What an artistic rendering of a great photo! Would love that on MY wall! I’ve been to Kim’s site and took her skinny mini course but have been too busy soaking up these wonderful shots on the 365 that I haven’t done much homework myself…as Kim would say…babysteps!!!

  32. Beautifully done, Tammy! Thanks so much for sharing the info and your work!

  33. A sweet image to start with, the texture and frame add a lot of depth.

  34. Textures are awesome. This one you used almost makes it look like a painting instead of a photograph. Very nice.

  35. Absolutely stunning! The texture/processing is extremely well done.

  36. I like your before image a lot. Your edited image, though, really is lovely. Thank you for sharing the link too!

  37. thank you for sharing the links

  38. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

 
